From Another Aging Dancer

As my body ages, I keep having to make decisions about what I can and cannot do. For example, I signed up for a beginning bellydance class with Siwa, mostly for the opportunity to get to know her better but also to keep my dancing hips in practice. Sadly, I found that I couldn’t do beginners classes anymore because they require deep muscular work and lots of drilling. I’d leave the class in pain; it wasn’t fun. I didn’t even make it to the fourth class. That’s alright. I’ve had to stop dancing before. It usually means re-examining what it means to call one’s self a dancer and how determining how to continue being engaged in dance life.

Last fall, on the urging of Audrey, I signed up for Jazzercise. If I avoid high impact moves and only go every other day, it seems to be doing the trick. I’m in better condition than ever before (even from when I last did Jz in the late 90s) and I have fun. The movements are pretty basic and limited but they vary enough (mostly) to keep me interested. Plus, everything I know about popular music comes from Jazzercise. Keeps me current.

 

This entry was posted in Bellydance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

