The Wisdom of Delenn

I’ve been so busy writing other things (a memoir about growing up a Yankee Jewish Baha’i, an ethnography of Santa Cruz bellydance, a blog post for Dance Advantage on dance ethnographies, an interview with Crystal Silmi) that I have had no time for my blog! Sorry about that…I’ll try to do better.

In the meantime, I ran across these words of wisdom from one of my favorite scifi shows, Babylon 5. Aside from its great writing and compelling drama, I found some of its philosophy inspiring. Here’s one such example:

Season Two: Episode 4 “A Distant Star” aired 11/23/94

Minbari Ambassador Delenn (played by Mira Furlan) speaks to Babylon 5 Captain John Sheridan (played by Bruce Boxleitner) about change:

The universe puts us in places where we can learn

They are never easy places

But they are right

Wherever we are is it the right place, and the right time

Pain sometimes comes

Its part of the process of

Constantly being born

We are both I suppose going thru transitions

The universe knows what its doing

I will tell you a great secret Captain, perhaps the greatest of all time:

The molecules of your body are the same molecules that make up this station

And the nebula outside that burn inside the stars themselves

We are star stuff

We are the universe made manifest

Trying to figure itself out.

As we have both learned,

sometimes the universe requires a change of perspective.

This entry was posted in Personal but relevant. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wisdom of Delenn

  1. arden sumner schwartz and Allan says:

    Ibelieve in the right place at th right time… BUT… I also believe in being in the wrong place at the wrong time. I do not believe things happen by accident that is why they are called accidents. Some day I will tell you about the Gremlin happening. My car that is/was. Good to hear from you. Arden

Leave a Reply

