Danza Folklórica Escénica: A New Documentary Film on the History of Mexican Folkdance

This week, Dr. Olga Nájera-Ramírez, professor of anthropology at the University of California, Santa Cruz, CA premiered her film documentary on the historical development of modern Mexican folkdance. Danza Folklórica Escénica traces the history of Mexican folklórico through the life of one of its pioneers, Rafael Zamarripa. Though I was not able to attend the grand premiere—with special guest Maestro Zamarripa himself !—I did go to a screening at the UCSC anthropology department.

Mexican Folklorico dancing in the streets 2009

Nájera-Ramírez has been investigating folklórico since the 1970s as an undergraduate student at UCSC where she first encountered it. She met Zamarripa in 1976 and studied with him for three years at his school, Escuela del Artes Plásticas de la Universidad de Guadalajara. As a graduate student, she set out to research the history and practice of the genre and was shocked to find that there was nothing available other than small “recipe” booklets. She decided to rectify that. In 1989 Nájera-Ramírez published one of the first scholarly articles on folklórico. Last year, the University of Illinois Press published the first anthology of essays on folklórico, Dancing across Borders: Danzas y Bailes Mexicanos, co-edited by Nájera-Ramírez. This new documentary film, directed and produced by Nájera-Ramírez, represents the culmination of decades of research and finally provides a comprehensive explanation of the complex history of Mexican folklórico.

Rafael Zamarippa, the subject of the film, is a sculptor and painter of some note as well as master, devotee, and innovator of Mexican folkdance. Performing first with Amalia Hernandez’s famous Ballet Folklórico de Mexico, he left to explore a different direction for the form. His concern for the roots of dance in folk culture lead him to do his own field research, gathering information through video and interviews. Mexican folk dance takes many forms from the indigenous religious danzas to the secular bailes derived from European social dances. His research became the foundation of his choreography and provided inspiration for his lighting design and costuming.

While Zamarippa maintained the “ambiance” of the folk traditions, he was not afraid to innovate and demand technical proficiency from his dancers. He is credited with being one of the Fathers of modern folklórico and with creating a canon and setting standards for dramatic narratives. Today he is developing technical drills for footwork, arm positions, and placement of the torso to prepare the dancers for the wide range of movement that will be required of them.

Nájera-Ramírez also explains the role of folklórico in Mexican identity politics. Of particular interest is the role it played here in the US through the Chicano Civil Rights movement of the 60s and 70s. For Mexican-American young people struggling to find an identity, grupos folklóricos came to represent their Mexican heritage. Interestingly, while Chicano artists began to express their politics through music, literature, and mural painting, the dance remained politically neutral. I hope this is a topic Nájera-Ramírez will develop in her future writing.

Dr. Olga Najera-Ramirez is to be praised for her own contributions to Mexican

Olga and me at my graduation party 2000

and Mexican-American scholarship. I am very proud to say that Olga was my dissertation advisor at UCSC and I am grateful to her for introducing me to Mexican culture and to the field of folklore. I also owe a debt of gratitude to my former SJSU student, Itza Sanchez. Her explanation of the varieties of folkloric dance in Mexico together with Olga’s writings on the politics and history of folklórico brought this complex history to life.

Danza Folklórica Escénica has not been released to the public yet but Olga is in negotiations for a broadcast on PBS. I will keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Event Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Danza Folklórica Escénica: A New Documentary Film on the History of Mexican Folkdance

  1. Connie DeNault says:

    Renee
    Thank you so much for sending me this
    well writen review of this documentary.
    I look forward to seeing it.

    I am particularly interested because my
    latest dance creation is called, Cabellera de Californio, circa 1844.

    Being primarily from a modern dance background, and from Northern European
    descent, I have stayed within my own style to create an abstract narrative landscape piece
    inspired by appreciation of the Californio
    period of regional history.

    When it gets polished enough, I would
    appreciate and respect your feedback.
    I rehearse it with my dancer Char Zakac
    at least once a week at the Scotts Valley
    Fitness Center.

    Thanks again fit sending me thus info and
    I’m sorry I missed the showings. I do not have any contacts at the Umiversity, so if you do hear of events like this, my cell send me e-mail
    or my cell phone is 252-2121.

    I am going to pass your bloggie deal to two other choreographers/dance educators
    I know that work with
    with Mexican dancers in Texas and
    Mexico.

    Good job.
    Connie DeNault

Leave a Reply

